“The best diplomat I know is a fully activated phaser bank!”

Good morning all, finally finished up my take on the Federation class.  (Forgot to mention in my annotations, my description of the bridge is based on this one here)

Federation class DN

 

Between reading through the “Vanguard” series as I do and my ever-present desire to make these write-ups more three-dimensional or ‘fleshed out’, I’ve used politics as my tool of choice to make this battlewagon more than just an imposing plot device.  As I mentioned in my annotations, I’ve got a draft sitting here where I mapped out the UFP Presidents (with brief notes) from about 2245 to 2270 or so.  Whether they or the relevant Starfleet Commanders (that I haven’t yet mapped out) get any mention in the future is up in the air.  Aside from one President’s emphasis on logistics (which will necessitate some revisions to certain pieces), politics during the Class I era stayed relatively quiet.

 

One thing I did want to explain a bit however is the role of Carriers & Starfighters in Starfleet overall.  Early on in my writing, while it was still pretty ‘fanboyish’, I introduced both without much thought (and like much of my early work, I’m embarrassed to go back and read that stuff).  After reading the Hobbyist’s Guide……… from front to back several times and really refining my history of the Four Years War in my Surya/Coventry writeup, here’s how I see things.  Starfleet’s Starfighter Command evolved from it’s Earth-Romulan War origins into a potential tactical tool.  The fighters themselves had good range and were fairly sophisticated for the day.  The carriers were similarly sophisticated, with Cruiser-level armament (or better) and the kind of C3/EW systems that would be found on later classes.  With this said, a Carrier could arrive on station in a given sector and deploy her fighters to establish nearly total control.

Obviously this wasn’t enough to keep the Klingons at bay, but from a defensive standpoint, it remained relevant.  This explains my mention of the Yorktown class CV towards the end and will underpin my reasoning for any future mention of Carriers/Fighters.

 

I’ve gone back and read through some of my previous posts and spreadsheets/notes and the last Class I ship I’ll do is the Lancer class Corvette (a successor to the Romulan War era Mercury class, based on this design by Kristian Trigwell and mentioned in the Hobbyist’s Guide………. as the Procyon class).  God willing, my own ambitions and motivation won’t let this one drag out.

 

Aside from all that, my go-to source for orthos, ‘admiral-horton’ (DeviantART) has emptied out his gallery and begun re-rendering all of his ships.  Also, there’s been some great stuff coming from Starship Dynamics lately including a great Battlecruiser offshoot of Constitution (a transformation of the Hood after it was damaged by the M-5).  Their upcoming project centers on the diminutive Archer class.  You can follow along on their Facebook and Tumblr pages.

2 responses to ““The best diplomat I know is a fully activated phaser bank!”

  1. I’ve been reading some of your releases this holiday weekend, but think I may be missing some. Do you have a link to an index?

Leave a Reply

