Revised Klingon Order of Battle (OOB)

Hey all, still working hard on Surya/Coventry (not sure whether I mentioned it, but they’re going to be a combined publication).  Just finished describing a minor battle I don’t think I’ve mentioned before and elected to use a more modern Klingon ship design I previously said I was going to leave by the wayside.

 

Following the bloody Battle of GR-1 (and Assault on Nozseca VIII) , I have Starfleet turning to ambushes (using convoys as bait) in an effort to counter the Klingons’ numerical superiority and thus even the overall odds a bit.  FASA’s Attack on Convoy Y-16Z follows this pattern perfectly.  As they have it, a convoy departed an anonymous planet (that they call ‘Deuteronomy III’) toward a front-line outpost, when they were set upon by 8 Klingon ships – a few cruisers and some gunboats.  The authors were pretty light on specific details here, so I took it upon myself to get creative as I do.

Initially, I thought about using the D-5 here – it’s stronger than the D-4 and larger, with more room for captured cargo and the like.  Then I thought back to the old, ‘non-canon’/RPG derived  D-5/K-5 design I had discarded (see my post from 9/5) and elected to use that (as the K-5/Dupat class).  A bit larger than the D-5 (185m L vs 179m L), its nonetheless smaller than the D-7 (185m L; 371,300mT vs 228m L; 434,500mT) while featuring the same aesthetics/technology (according to me), making it roughly akin to Larson in the Klingons’ inventory.

Keeping in mind the fact that the Klingons wouldn’t introduce any other ‘light’ classes (like the D-18/Lara’atan and D-14/D’esta Kar) until well after the end of the Four Years War, something to slot in on the lower end of the scale doesn’t seem all that unreasonable (and allows me to keep favorite RPG elements like this a part of my own ‘personal canon’).

 

Here then in, is the Klingon Order of Battle (remember, since these are produced in serious quantity, the IKDF doesn’t need as many separate classes)

G-1/Sentinel Class Gunboat

F-5/F-6B Kuve class Frigate

D-4/D’ama class Light Cruiser

K-5/Dupat class Light Cruiser

D-5 class Battlecruiser

D-6 class Battlecruiser

D-7 class Battlecruiser

 

k5blurb d7k5comparison1

 

Q’apla!

Leave a Reply

