Shuttle Notes

Good afternoon all, my Saturday has been abnormally busy and I only got comfortable here at the computer an  hour ago.  Did make quite a big change to my setup though, ditching my old monitor (21.5″ Asus V222H) for a brand new one (27″ Dell S2715H).  If you’re pretty particular, you might bristle at the fact this 27″ only sports 1080p/1920 x 1080 resolution (I’ve read reviews that mention 27″ monitors are often the best with resolutions like 2560 x 1440 or higher).  For me though, I’m not too picky about pixels and my desktop really couldn’t power anything too fancy (with a 512MB Intel HD 3000 integrated GPU), so I figured this will keep me pretty much future-proof as far as displays go.

 

What I’m working on though is the Class F shuttle.  I’ve got some freelancing to do later this afternoon, but I’m pretty sure I’ll either finish it tonight or tomorrow sometime.  It’s somewhat barebones, but given its basic utilitarian nature, this can be forgiven.  The major issue with this shuttle and small craft of this era overall is power.  “The Galileo Seven” complicated things by making an issue out of the use of fuel as a power source.  Timo Saloniemi’s Hobbyist’s Guide….. doesn’t mention this at all when talking about the Class F, so what I did was begin with the basic explanation regarding the use of bulk fuel and then replaced that with Timo’s ‘ion cascade powerplant’.

As an intermediary development that cuts fuel out of the process all together (at least in my mind….), I figure this is a good step towards the advent of miniaturized M/AM reactors that will accompany the shift to linear warp technology beginning in the 2270’s.    Really though, reading Timo’s descriptions of all the various small ships/craft in Parts II/III of his work (link right here – bookmark it!) makes me wonder about incorporating more later on.  Good inspiration for sure.

 

Jolan Tru

 

Leave a Reply

