A Firm Foundation

Happy Saturday all!  Has certainly been a long week for myself with multiple different things going on.  By the time Friday hit, I was pretty fried and could barely summon the motivation to press forward on this month’s freelance work.  Today though, I’m taking a much needed break and diving into the ‘State of the Fleet’ – the high level overview/evolution of Starfleet shipbuilding during the ‘Class I era’ (for my purposes, 2220 to 2271).  Now before I get too far, I’ll have to cement my list of classes I’m going to get into for this compilation, but one thing I already have set in stone is the list of major ship classes that served the Coalition of Planets and the Earth Starfleet during the 22nd Century.

One of the realities that seems to be accepted across many segments of fandom is that there is a clearly defined fleet serving during the ENT era and then one serving during the TOS era, but that the period in between the two was one of malaise and complacency–various sources putting forth various theories to explain the smattering of different ship designs that popped up.  Timo Saloniemi’s Hobbyist’s Guide……is the only source I’ve found that connects/includes nearly every one of these designs in a logical/linear manner, but as I have only a fraction of his ambition, I’ll leave that well enough alone.

I did however pattern my idea of an ENT era fleet after his, including the following classes…….(links to images only unless otherwise stated)

 

DY-1100 class Transport (TT) *(I previously called this ‘DY-X’)
Link

J class Freighter (FG)
Link

Y class Freighter (FG)
Link

Durance class Freighter (FG)
Link

Discovery class Scout/Assault Transport (ST/TA) *(based on the Conestoga class)
Link
Link 2

Mercury class Corvette (CO) *(that I’ve previously covered)
Link

Daedalus class Corvette (CO) *(have previously covered this as well – reclassifying it from Cruiser/CA down to Corvette/CO based on generally accepted dimensions and description contained in the Hobbyist’s Guide…..)
Link

Minuteman class Destroyer (DD)
Link

Emmette class Destroyer (DD)
Link

Iceland class Heavy Destroyer (DH)
Link

Triton class class Light Cruiser (CL)
Link

Poseidon class Cruiser (CA)
Link

NX class Heavy Cruiser (CH)
Link

Columbia class Heavy Cruiser (CH)
Link

Victory class Dreadnought/Carrier (DN/CV) *(that I’ve previously covered)
Link

Yorktown class Battleship (BB) *(that I’ve previously covered)
Link

 

Now as I have it, Mercury, Daedalus, Columbia and Yorktown are the only front-line classes from this period that survive past 2170.  Victory had by this time transitioned almost entirely to Carrier specs, Minuteman through Poseidon were retired to to their over-engineering (that claimed a number of NX’s in the opening days of the Earth-Romulan war).  The transports and freighters I mentioned also survive as well, only because Starfleet has no other classes available at the time to assume the same responsibilities.

3 responses to “A Firm Foundation

Leave a Reply

