Reference Material

Hello there all.  As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t often do ‘placeholder’ posts – except on the rare occasion that I run across some great artists/designers/writers who’s work I use as a reference.   This is one of those times (lucky for you all 😉 )

First, a shout-out for DeviantART’s ‘admiral-horton’.  The artist/designer who did the visual depiction of the Missouri class in my recent ‘X-Ships’ publication, his gallery is small, but filled with some great 3D orthos and scenes.  *(His take on the Yamato class Battleship is hands down, the best able to be found on the net)

http://admiral-horton.deviantart.com

 

Second, Timo Saloniemi’s Hobbyist’s Guide to the UFP Starfleet and its History.  I can’t remember where I acquired versions of this in .doc format, but they’ve been sitting in my reference archive for a while.  I revisited Vol. 11 of Richard Mandel’s Federation Spaceflight Chronology to help develop the background/’State of the Fleet’ section for my TMP compilation and he mentioned some stuff that Timo had written, so I decided to go give that guide another look.

What else can I say except it is a huge chunk of work.  It covers work from all the usual RPG sources (FASA, SFB etc) as well as games (Starfleet Command, Klingon Academy etc) and of course, provides another take on traditional canon material as well.  I’ve only skimmed over it briefly thus far, but the writing/content is solid and seems like it would be a worthy addition to your reference library.  You can find it on Google Docs in 3 parts – as it says, it’s an in-progress work and I’m not quite sure whether there’s a more current version out there or not – just wanted to get this out so everyone can check it out.

Check it out here

 

And finally, a bit of history regarding the Kzinti – the fearsome felinoids who’ve given humanity so much trouble.  Early on in my writing, I got them confused a bit with the ‘Mirak’ from the Starfleet Command series of PC games, but from what I’ve been able to find out – the Kzinti and Mirak were supposed to be one and the same.  However the creators of Starfleet Command ran into licensing/legal issues and so ‘Kzinti’ became ‘Mirak’.  Going a bit further, also in the same series of games you have the ‘Lyrans’ – another felinoid race.  Supposedly they are distantly related somehow to the Kzinti/Mirak, but information on them is sparse at best.  About the only other detail I can find is that they don’t really get along too well with the Kzin……

Kzinti Background at Memory Alpha

Lyran Entry at Memory Beta

 

 

Live Long and Prosper.

 

2 responses to “Reference Material

  1. Thanks for the props, I would have never though my ortho would be used id anyones work. Just remember none of these ship you will we I have design or made the meshes. All I do is take there work and render the orthos in DAZ studio. On my page you will see to sets of credits the one who made the mesh then me who did the pic. My deviantart page is small but growing I have 100+ meshes left to render
    so a lot of work ahead. Keep up the good work you have been doing.

Leave a Reply

