Beasts of War

Merry Christmas to all!  Hope the holidays find you well.

It’s been a bit busy here on my end as of late.  Things have started to pick back up at work and I’ve been working 12hr shifts for the past couple of weeks.  I’ve also unearthed a lot of old family photos and have spent a nice chunk of time scanning those in and getting them archived.  So I haven’t exactly had a lot of time here lately to devote to this.

All is not lost though.  This weekend, while back at my parents, I took a little bit of time to finish up my combined publication on both the Missouri and Ulysses classes, the ‘X-Ships of the Linear Warp Era’.  It’s a bit bare-bones……the majority of the text spent explaining why they were needed (Missouri, to challenge the KDF’s large and imposing battlewagons; Ulysses, to rectify the problems with previous Dreadnought classes and produce a heavily armed patrol combatant that was also suitable for peacetime applications) and then their designs.

Given the time period and overlapping dates somewhat, I didn’t spend as much time explaining why they didn’t become mass produced and kind of glossed over the end of their service lives–though in the case of Ulysses, I did embellish it somewhat.

X-Ships of the Linear Warp Era

*(All material is the property of the respective owners/creators.  No infringement is intended)

What’s next?  Well, I did start something on the old Baton Rouge class, but at present, I want to start getting things organized for my next big compilation covering all the ships of the TMP/Linear Warp Era.  In addition to all the formatting and compiling, I know I’m going to have to do a fair bit of revision in order to straighten out certain details and establish a more uniform narrative overall.

Enjoy the Holidays and may you continue to Live Long and Prosper

 

7 responses to “Beasts of War

  1. I do like the work how ever, I think Missouri should have been bigger, I think in Klingon acdemeny it is in the 700 meters range.

    I do have a different Missouri mesh I will have to get up and post on my deviantart page and one of the Yamato.

  2. Yours is the best pictorial of this ship I’ve found – not even the blueprints on the Starship Schematic Database are as good. Finding specs though for certain SFC/KA ships is almost as hard as finding visuals – am not sure, but I think the ones I used came from an RPG website.

    The Yamato though would certainly be an interesting addition……….to use a real-world analogy, it would be to the US Navy’s Montana class, what the Klingon B-12 or B-14 classes would be to the IJN’s Super Yamato/A-150 class. Yours would definitely be a great representation I’m sure 🙂

  3. I have a lot of meshes that I learn how to do better orthos in DAZ Studio and I have a better Ulysses & I have wickedzombie’s Carolina I will have to post sometime soon, but I have just about any ship of any race found on bridge commander, or can do just about any. I also have a lot of Mirak, Kzinti, Hydran & Lyran meshes, if you were thinking of doing anything with those races.

  4. The Ulysses and Carolina would be excellent, thanks!

    The Kzinti, Mirak and Lyrans are all sort of confusing…..I’ve read up on the history of the Kzinti at least and figured one or two ship classes might be good for posterity’s sake, but given the confusion that surrounds the 3 races (see my most recent post), I’m still on the fence about that.

  5. Things with that big combined project I’ve been working on have been dragging a bit, so yeah, I thought about going back to Baton Rouge this weekend. Your ortho looks good there – will use that with some pics I’ve collected when it comes time. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

