Federation Spaceflight Chronology Resources

*(08 Nov 2012 – I’ve gone through and fixed the download links so that you can get your hands on the Guide to the Klingon Fleet and the ‘Okuda Edition’ of the FSC, Vol. 1 yet again.  The Klingon & Romulan timelines and Klingonese dictionary were another matter.  Wordpress wouldn’t let me upload straight .txt files, so I had to use Microsoft Word to save them in a .PDF format which may have altered the formatting for the worse slightly.  Apologies in advance to those who chose to click on those links!!)

Hello again!  No, no…….I’m not done with this latest SoTSF endeavor of mine……actually, I’ve got some much, much better stuff on tap!

Commenting on the post immediately preceding this one was Richard Mandel – creator of the Federation Spaceflight Chronology series (check out the volumes here).  I made quite liberal use of his work–Vols. 10, 11 and 12 as well as Vol. 9 and the Klingon supplement–during the blog’s early days here when I was still fleshing out my vision for the TOS (‘Class I’) and TMP (‘Linear Warp’) eras.

Instead of paraphrasing him, I’ll just repost what he originally wrote…..

Since you were so kind to me with your comments, I thought I’d return the favor. There was a time a few years back when I planned to redo the entire FSC for the Okuda timeline, but that effort ran out of steam. The real world intervened, other projects beckoned – you know, the usual – and I’ve since moved on to other things (and genres). Anyhow, I though what I DID get done might prove useful to you, so here’s some links for you:

Guide to the Klingon Fleet (GKF) –
Check it out!

FSC Volume 1 (Okuda edition) –
Check it out!

Klingon Historical Timeline –
Check it out!

Romulan Historical Timeline
Check it out!

Klingonaase Dictionary
Check it out!

The two timelines are notes for revising the Klingon and Romulan FSC supplements respectively. The Klingonaase Dictionary was to help me use “proper” old Klingon terms in the GKF, since there are plenty of Okrand-derived dictonaries out there for his Klingon language. The Revised FSC Volume 1 is all I ever did of the Okuda timeline rewrite. GKF is the most complete of everything (85-90%, I’d say). The starship sections are mostly done, the small craft section only halfway done, and I never did get beyond preliminary notes for bases and so on. I’ll keep them up long enough to make sure you and some of your friends get them, but they won’t be up for long. Online storage issues and such.

Both you and the rest of fandom are welcome to do with these as you please. I hope they prove useful to you and your own particular efforts.

Live long and prosper,
Richard Mandel

I’ve personally read his ‘Okuda-ized’ FSC Vol.1, the Guide to the Klingon Fleet and am reading through the Klingon Historical Timeline as we speak…….these are definitely great additions to your tech library for sure and unlike the chronology I referenced above, these will not be up indefinitely, so be sure and download ASAP!

18 responses to “Federation Spaceflight Chronology Resources

  1. Aw, this was a extremely high quality post. In theory I’d like to write like this as well – taking time and true work to generate a great article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to have a thing done.

  2. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  3. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

  4. No, it’s not tough at all. WordPress makes things relatively smooth and simple for you – with extensive resources to help you out should you get stuck. All you need is a topic in mind and the possibilities are endless!

  5. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Fantastic work!

  6. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and superb design.

  7. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  8. anyone know where i can get a hold of the Romulan supplement? it is the only part of the FSC that i actually need

  9. Could you post the Federation Spaceflight Chronology in a downloadable form? The website linked here is dead and the wayback machine doesn’t have all the documents.

Leave a Reply

