Coming Up….

Hey all – feel bad here for not getting anything new up lately, that’s due entirely in part to the ‘combined volume’ format I decided to go with for this next project.

Following in the steps of my recent Ships of Starfleet: 2414, I’ve commenced on a sequel Ships of Starfleet: 2300-2365 that covers everything from the turn of the century, all the way up to the early TNG era.  Included will be another 15 classes, including…..

Renaissance

Merced

Ambassador

Apollo*

Defender

Freedom

Niagara

Belmont*

Steamrunner

Korolev

Cheyenne

Rigel

Challenger

Springfield

Olympic

*(new non-canon designs)

Due to the time it’s taking me to get this together, all future releases will be individual again, if only for the sake of avoiding ‘dry spells’ such as this.

In the meantime, I would heartily recommend picking up the new Typhon Pact novel Plagues of Night.  As with the final Vanguard novel Storming Heaven, this is a taught thriller–despite lagging in places.  The ending features a cliffhanger that I promise will have you talking for some time to come!

 

All the Best

 

2 responses to “Coming Up….

  1. Hello! Just got through visiting your blog. You’ve been a very busy fellow, haven’t you? *grin* Anyhow, thanks for the kind comments about the FSC, and I’m glad to see it’s been put to good use. You’ve got some good stuff here … and we differ in opinion in some things, well, that’s part of the fun, isn’t it?

    Since you were so kind to me with your comments, I thought I’d return the favor. There was a time a few years back when I planned to redo the entire FSC for the Okuda timeline, but that effort ran out of steam. The real world intervened, other projects beckoned – you know, the usual – and I’ve since moved on to other things (and genres). Anyhow, I though what I DID get done might prove useful to you, so here’s some links for you:

    Guide to the Klingon Fleet (GKF) –
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?7kf358552ujj18c

    FSC Volume 1 (Okuda edition) –
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?y5j29p2itdibcdt

    Klingon Historical Timeline –
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?r9dd2ehp54ovy7o

    Romulan Historical Timeline
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?tsgmery7fju7tsc

    Klingonaase Dictionary
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?7znb12k79dk7bql

    The two timelines are notes for revising the Klingon and Romulan FSC supplements respectively. The Klingonaase Dictionary was to help me use “proper” old Klingon terms in the GKF, since there are plenty of Okrand-derived dictonaries out there for his Klingon language. The Revised FSC Volume 1 is all I ever did of the Okuda timeline rewrite. GKF is the most complete of everything (85-90%, I’d say). The starship sections are mostly done, the small craft section only halfway done, and I never did get beyond preliminary notes for bases and so on. I’ll keep them up long enough to make sure you and some of your friends get them, but they won’t be up for long. Online storage issues and such.

    Both you and the rest of fandom are welcome to do with these as you please. I hope they prove useful to you and your own particular efforts.

    Live long and prosper,
    Richard Mandel

  2. Hello there! Once I settled on WordPress as my ‘canvas’ of sorts, yes, I did indeed get quite busy as you mentioned. We do indeed differ on a few things here and there, but yes, it is indeed all part of the fun of creating! 🙂

    I too can relate–the real world has provided me an abundance of time lately with which to use on writing, but as is the case with me, I have numerous things going at once here, including my own Timeline. That ‘Okuda-ized’ volume you did is great, as is your guide to the Klingon fleet and I’m sure as I revise and compile my Class I/Linear Warp era publications into their own volumes, the Klingon and Romulan timelines will prove invaluable as well! 🙂

    Sadly, my updates are rather infrequent. As I described though, I hope to start releasing starship publications individually here soon after my latest project is complete. Hopefully you’ll still drop by again every now and then though!

    Thanks again and Jolan Tru

Leave a Reply

